Evening Of Elegance

Our annual Evening of Elegance is our opportunity to showcase our scholarship award recipients and acknowledge individuals who have positively impacted the black community. Funds raised from this event provide scholarship awards to college bound youth from the Harlem community. Honorees are distinguished individuals who have given much to ensure the success of others.



Angela E. Guy, SVP of Diversity and Inclusion, L’Oreal USA

Etu F. Evans, Entrepreneur, Fashion Designer, and Motivational Speaker

Soledad O’Brien, Philanthropist and Award Winning Journalist

Dr. Marcella Maxwell, Clinical Supervisor of Teaching Fellows at City College

Dr. Anne R. Elliott, President & Executive Director of Greenhope Services for Women, Inc.

Elsie McCabe Thompson, Museum for African Art, President

Tyrone Davis, Director, Office of Black Ministry (Archdiocese of New York)

Dorothy Clark, Past President, New York Alumnae Chapter (Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated)

Maxine Frere, Health Care Practitioner & Advocate

Marion Tanner Claiborne, Educator

Mattie Vance Dickerson, Civil Rights Advocate and Educator

Jeffrey I. Johnson, Politcal Motivator & Social Commentator

Jackie Rowe-Adams, Community Activist

Dr. Michelle H. Brown-Nevers, Ed.D. , Associate Vice President, Student Administrative Services and University Registrar, Columbia

Peggy Sheppard, Executive Director, West Harlem Environmental Action, Inc

Elinor Tatum, New York Amsterdam News

Peter L. McFarlane, Ed. D., Principal, Hugo Newman College Preparatory School

Martha E. Williams, Immediate Past President of New York Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Lloyd Williams, President/CEO of Greater Harlem Chamber of Commerce

Geoffrey Canada, President and CEO, Harlem Children’s Zone

Verna Eggelston, New York City Human Resources Commissioner

Carla Harris, Head of Equity Private Placement, Morgan Stanley

Inez Dickens-Russell, New York Council, 9th District, Central Harlem

Gwendolyn Connor, Assistant Executive Director Harlem Teams

Voza Rivers, Chairman & CEO, Voz Entertainment Group

Geraldine L. Daniels-Henry, Represented the 70th Assembly District in Central Harlem, New York.

Dolores Solomon-Turner, Founding President of Sisters Health Coalition of Harlem and Lenox Avenue Merchants Associations.

Erik A. Cliette, Director of Urban Youth Bikes Corps.

Dorothy I. Height, Former National President of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

David Dinkins, Former Mayor of New York City.

Vivian Robinson, Founder of Audience Development Committee.

Dr. Lorraine Hale, Executive Director and Co-Founder of Hale House, Inc.

Butler Dowery, Educator.

Winnie Mandela, South African Human Rights Activist.

Kate Tolliver, Mathematician and Educator.

Rev. Al Sharpton, National Action Network.

Pat Prescott, Radio Personality.

W. “Billie” Holliday-Hayes, Former Police Commissioner.

Leroy Campbell, Artist.